Thursday 19th January – Oooops!!

My life sucks.

My job’s a joke, I’m broke and my love life’s definitely been declared D.O.A.

Sigh.

Still, I guess it could be worse, look at that crazy dude they left in charge of the Costa Concordia, he seems to be having a really bad week.

I know that ‘officially’ I should be outraged, and I suppose on a lot of levels I am but, (and it’s a big hairy Silvio Berlusconi, bunga-bunga sized but) I don’t think it was his premeditated intention to put the lives of his four thousand passengers at risk.

I’m sure that boats (and that) have sea-maps that they’re supposed to follow but hello, hasn’t anyone seen that bit in Top Gun when loose-cannon ‘Maverick’ does the control tower fly-by and the controller-man drops his tea?

Twice.

I think that Captain Schettino was aiming for a jaunty ‘Ciao Bella look-a atta my huge-a ship-a you-a donna have-a huge-a ship-a’ which I am guessing he’d hoped would end with the inhabitants of Giglio clapping, cheering and exclaiming how Cappy-S was sooo money-supermarket.

Instead of going down as the legend of epic hilariousness that he was hoping for, Captain-Capsize now looks like a bit of a giant sized, douche-bag.

Undeterred by the violent listing of the boat he was standing on and not content with orchestrating the worst thought out sail-by in the history of, well, sailing, he then ambled down to the bar where he cheerfully went on to make it a double-header by also sinking few glasses of vino, as he waited for the life-rafts to turn up.

Salut!

It sounds like things didn’t get much better after that because he then, having gotten himself all liquored up, fell off the boat.

Unlike many of the unfortunate passengers however, he didn’t fall off the fourth deck into the rock-strewn, probably shark infested water, he plopped straight into a lifeboat.

Around this point, the lifeguard man on shore got a bit vexed with Captain-Capsize and told him to ‘get back on board you total dick’ but, and this seems to be the thing that really ruined Cappy-C’s day, he couldn’t because it was, by this time getting a bit dark.

Furthermore, his socks were wet.

No, Captain-Capsize was eager to get off home by that time and given that he’d probably got a bit of a hangover and his socks were wringing wet, who can blame him. As working days go, his had been pretty brutal.

So I really shouldn’t moan at my lot because, as my Mum always says, there really is nothing worse than wet socks.

Apparently she wasn’t lying.

Damp feet can get pretty frigging real.

13 thoughts on “Thursday 19th January – Oooops!!

  1. Sorry, but I think this is in pretty poor taste. People lost their lives, for goodness sake, because of this man.

    Not a laughing matter, really.

    • JuJu….
      In fairness, singlemum was merely pointing out the irony of the captain’s alibi. Yes peoples lives were lost and it is a horrendous tragedy and I wouldn’t like to entertain the idea of coping with what some folk are going through. But I fail to see how singlemum is responsible for laughing at these unfortunate folk – she was simply taking the news in her stride and giving a sarcastic and honest opinion. She wasn’t mocking the passengers or crew.
      Singlemum has been writing this blog for a number of years now and sarcasm, along with a rather dry humour is her thing more often than not at herself and own life (as per subtitle at top of page – “WHEN YOUR DAY JUST CAN’T GET ANY WORSE; LAUGH AT MINE.”… If it offends then perhaps singlemum is not the blogger for you and your tastes.
      Look upon things with a light heart or else you’ll never get out of life alive!!
      Leah xx

  2. Absolutely – I think that the poorest taste might be attributed to the man who said, “Hmmm, I think the instruments were at fault”, when he himself (as the man in charge) hopped off before making sure that everyone else on board was safe.

  3. Please write a book singlemom! You are a very funny writer .Re the boat-people chill out! Society’s coping strategies often include humor for a reason.

  4. After reading all your comments, I decided to re-read the article……..and now I’m eating humble pie!

    After a very traumatic and emotional day yesterday (family funeral), I realise that I wasn’t in the best place to comment on the piece. So having re-read it and taken it in the spirit in which it was intended I’d like to offer my apologies to singlemum, and hope that no offence was taken. I’d also like to say thanks to all who commented, for gently pointing out my mistake!

    • JuJu – I do not accept your apology and the reason is this;

      We must never apologise for disagreeing or having our own opinion. You are very welcome to disagree with me, I love a spirited debate and appreciate your comments.

      I urge you to always have your say here, in fact I insist on it.

      Since my goal is to express myself, I can hardly complain if others feel motivated to do so too.

      Single-Mum says: Opinions rock, bring ’em on!!

      p.s – sorry to hear that you had a rough day ((((sister-hug))))

  5. Ah, thank you for the hug………..much appreciated!

    BUT it was an opinion based on an incorrect – actually downright wrong! – interpretation of your motive (is that the right word?) for the article, so to me, the apology was needed as I was wrong………..

    By the way, I’ve been reading your Blog for a long, long time and it strikes many chords! I was a single mum for many years, and I know from experience that behind the light-hearted banter there can be a lot of pain. Kudos to you for your (mostly!) optimistic and honest view of life as a single mum!

    • JuJu,
      You’re a bigger person than me,… if i had been in the wrong i most likely would not have apologised lol… I’d have done the world wide web equivalent of hiding away in a corner kicking myself.
      My deepest sympathies for you and your family at this time, and i am sorry if my comment seemed a little like a tirade against your person.

      THREE CHEERS for well articulated opinions 😀
      Leah xx

What do you think????

